Saturday, December 10, 2016

SS Purple League 2016/17 ( 12 December 2016 ~ 12 February 2017 )

As the premier badminton league in the country, the Purple League (PL) provides the perfect arena for the country’s elite to go head-to-head with top players from around the world. It serves as a platform for young talent to access world-class competition in a local environment. Now entering its third year, the League uniquely unites clubs, players, fans and sponsors with a shared passion for the sport, and attracts many of the biggest international names in competitive badminton.

With the total prize money in excess of RM1.5 million at stake, the past two seasons featured a record 14 of the world’s top players, hailing from 14 different countries, including six Olympians and eight World Champions. The star-studded field has included Malaysia’s very own ace shuttler, Dato’ Lee Chong Wei, South Korea’s Lee Yong Dae, Denmark’s Jan O’ Jorgensen as well as Malaysia’s top women’s singles player Tee Ji Yi, Canada’s Michelle Li, and Japan’s Aya Ohori.

The League will be open to players aged 19-36 or any player who has a BWF ranking of 150 or better as of August 2016. Utilizing a unique and exciting format, teams compete in the round robin league to top the league points table in a tactical race to take the coveted championship.

The Purple League fosters a community to promote, nurture, and develop young talent. By bringing back badminton greats from different eras, with the likes of Razif and Rashid Sidek, Foo Kok Keong and Yap Kim Hock, to contribute to the sport by staying engaged, the League harnesses their experience and expertise to inspire young hearts and minds with their love of the game. Apart from raising the profile of badminton, it is also an avenue for team managers to showcase their tactical prowess in grooming a new generation of badminton players with the ultimate aim of helping Malaysia in capturing an Olympic Gold medal.

No comments:

Post a Comment