Friday, 3 November 2017

Tourism Malaysia Receives Two Awards At The 2017 Perak Tourism Awards Night

IPOH, PERAK, 3 November 2017 - Tourism Malaysia bagged two awards at the 2017 Perak Tourism Awards held recently at Hotel Kinta Riverfront in Ipoh.

The Director General of Tourism Malaysia, Datuk Seri Mirza Mohammad Taiyab, was conferred the Special Personality Award in recognition of his contribution in promoting and marketing Malaysia to the world.

The Perak-born Datuk Seri Mirza received his early education in Bagan Serai, and later joined Tourist Development Corporation Malaysia, as the organisation was known then, in 1982.

During his tenure of more than three decades with Tourism Malaysia, Datuk Seri Mirza has served in various capacities. He was directly in charge of various key portfolios including advertising, international promotions, conventions, marketing support services, communications and domestic promotions. He headed the Tourism Malaysia office in Frankfurt, overseeing tourism promotion efforts in Germany, Austria, Italy and Switzerland in 1989; and was appointed as the director of Tourism Malaysia Tokyo office from 1995 to 2000.

He has led many tourism delegations and international promotion missions and represented Tourism Malaysia and the Ministry of Tourism and Culture at various seminars and conventions locally and internationally.

In 2006, he was appointed as Director General of Tourism Malaysia.

Meanwhile, Tourism Malaysia Perak was also honoured with the Innovative Government Agency award for its endless efforts in highlighting the state’s unique attractions to domestic and international tourists.

Among Tourism Malaysia’s support and involvement in Perak’s tourism development include the promotion of Visit Perak Year 2017, the package development and promotion of Kuala Kangsar, as well as the promotion of Royal Belum State Park as an ecotourism destination. Tourism Malaysia frequently hosts international tour operators and media to visit Perak and discover its many attractions there through the Tourism Malaysia Mega Familiarisation Programme.

A total of 32 awards were presented by the Menteri Besar of Perak Dato’ Seri DiRaja Dr. Zambry bin Abd. Kadir, accompanied by Perak State Secretary Dato’ Seri Abdul Puhat bin Mat Nayan, Perak State Financial officer Dato’ Haji Mohd. Gazali bin Jalal and the State Tourism, Arts, Culture, Communications and Multimedia Committee Chairman Dato’ Nolee Ashilin binti Dato’ Mohammed Radzi.

Among the winners were Weil Hotel Ipoh (Best Hotel for 100 Rooms and Above); Belum Rainforest Resort (Best Resort); RTM’s Jom Jalan-Jalan (Best Tourism Production for Electronic Media); and Gaya Travel Magazine and Suara Perak (Innovative Media).

Perak Tourism Awards is a biannual event participated by various government and private organisations as well as non-governmental organisations. The awards aim to encourage tourism industry players in the state to provide excellent services to tourists, and is a platform to recognise the best industry player efforts.
-Tourism Malaysia.

No comments:

Post a comment