Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Kelana Jaya And Ampang LRT Line Extension To Open From 30 June 2016

KUALA LUMPUR, 25 June 2016 – The Kelana Jaya and Ampang LRT Line Extension will commence operations from 30 June 2016, as scheduled.

“For the Kelana Jaya Line LRT stations within the jurisdiction of the Subang Jaya Municipal Council (MPSJ), we have received the support letters from the various agencies, and the One Stop Center (OSC) of MPSJ has accepted, checked, and acknowledged the submission, including the Certificate of Completion and Compliance (CCC) issued by the architects.

“For the remaining three Ampang Line LRT stations which come under the jurisdiction of MPSJ, we have also received all support letters from the various agencies including, MPSJ, SYABAS, TNB, IWK and the Fire and Rescue Services Department (Bomba).

“For the CCC issued by the architect for the remaining three Ampang Line LRT stations, the MPSJ OSC has confirmed that the submission can be made on Monday, 27 June 2016.

“Once the documents are submitted and acknowledged by the MPSJ OSC, the CCC submission process is considered complete,” said Prasarana Rail and Infrastructure Projects Sdn Bhd Chief Executive Officer, Dato’ Ir. Zohari Sulaiman in a statement issued today.

Zohari clarified that with the introduction of the Street, Drainage, and Building (Amendment) Act 2007 on 12 April 2007, the CCC, which is a self-certification process has replaced the Certificate of Fitness of Occupation (CFO) issued by the local authorities. Under the amended Act, the CCC is issued by the architect or engineer supervising the project. This is to address the challenges brought about by the previous system, and to create a more efficient public delivery system.

Zohari was addressing the concern raised by MPSJ President Dato’ Nor Hisham Ahmad Dahlan who told the media on 24 June 2016 that the council had not approved the CCC for the LRT stations due to the lack of parking facilities at selected stations.

Zohari clarified that unlike other stations, the planning and development of parking facilities at Station 4 (Subang Jaya) and Station 7 (USJ 7) of the Kelana Jaya LRT Line Extension Project, are not included in the approved Building Plan (Pelan Bangunan), and as such, are not part of the CCC for the stations.

For Station 4 and Station 7, the parking facilities were to be provided as part of a larger property development in collaboration with adjacent landowners.

Nevertheless, Zohari said Prasarana was still committed to providing temporary parking facilities in the interest of the public, as an interim measure.

“We are in talks with Sime Darby, the master developer of USJ Subang Jaya, and are hopeful of securing the space to develop the temporary parking facilities within two months until the future permanent parking facilities are provided as part of the larger development plans,” said Zohari, adding that the responsibility of Prasarana does not end with the commencement of the LRT operations.

“We have already developed more than 2,200 motorcar parking bays along the Kelana Jaya Line Extension and will continue to enhance the facilities in and around the LRT stations for the benefit of the people.

“We have also finalised the routes for the LRT feeder bus services and would deploy 30 feeder buses that would operate between a frequency of 10 minutes and 15 minutesalong 10 routes between Lembah Subang and Putra Heights from 30 June.

“For the remaining Ampang LRT Line Extension, we would deploy 10 buses, to cover five new routes from Bandar Baru Puchong to Putra Heights at a frequency of 10 minutes,”said Zohari.


No comments:

Post a Comment