Monday, September 14, 2015

Tourism Malaysia Unveils New Organisational Structure

PUTRAJAYA, 14 Sept 2015: Tourism Malaysia has recently unveiled its new organisational structure, which is better streamlined and more efficient in handling its duties of promoting the country’s tourism industry into the future.

The reorganisation marks Tourism Malaysia’s efforts in gearing up for the country’s target to achieve 36 million tourist arrivals and RM168 billion in receipts by the year 2020. This is in line with the Malaysia Tourism Transformation Plan (MTTP) where the Ministry of Tourism and Culture is at the forefront to encourage innovation and creativity to boost the tourism industry to achieve its target.   

The major changes of the reorganisation include the upgrading of various posts where a more senior grade director is now leading each state office and selected overseas offices. Besides that, a few directors have been promoted, while the roles of several directors have been changed. 

With this reorganisation, the number of divisions has been reduced from 13 to 12 and the names of several divisions have also been changed to better reflect their responsibilities and job scopes. All these changes have resulted in the overall reduction of staff and operating costs.  

Under the Director General Dato’ Mirza Mohammad Taiyab, there are now three Deputy Director Generals compared to two previously, namely the Deputy Director General of International Promotion Dato’ Haji Azizan Noordin, the Deputy Director General of Strategic and Domestic Chong Yoke Har, and the Deputy Director General of Advertising and Digital Dato’ Abdul Khani Daud. 

The creation of a new position to focus on advertising and digital reflects Tourism Malaysia’s emphasis on digital marketing, as well as to keep up with the development of information technology and social media. 
Dato’ Mirza announced the reorganisation and said that the change is necessary to keep up with the current developments and trends in the tourism industry.

Besides the reorganisation, Tourism Malaysia has also welcomed a new Chairman and Deputy Chairman, namely Wee Choo Keong (effective 17 June 2015) and Dato’ Zainol Abidin Omar (effective 17 August 2015) respectively, for a two-year term.

For more information, kindly refer to the new organisational chart below.
-Tourism Malaysia.

No comments:

Post a Comment